Building on Success

Together we made it happen!

Dear Friends:

With your incredible support and volunteer help, I was elected mayor of Richmond on November 4, 2014, taking office January 13, 2015.  I had previously served you on the City Council for nearly 20 years and I have served over 2 1/2 years as your mayor.

With all the votes counted, I received a total of 8,498 votes (51.34%) and Nat Bates received 5,743 votes (34.69%). That's a lead of more than 16.5%!

The Richmond election made national news because of the Chevron induced David and Goliath context and is the subject of a film documentary Nat Bates for Mayor.  See some of the media coverage below:
Esquire Magazine
Bill Moyers
Al Jazeera America
CBS San Francisco
SF Chronicle
Contra Costa Times
Richmond Confidential
Richmond Pulse
Beyond Chron

It is time to start looking forward to the next election in 2018, and I solicit your support. Look for more information soon.

Mayor Tom Butt

Sign Up E-Forum


This website is a personal endeavor and has no official connection to the City of Richmond. For City of Richmond information, see http://www.ci.richmond.ca.us/.

Mayor Tom Butt   |   117 Park Place, Richmond, CA 94801   |   510.220.1577   | tom.butt@intres.com