Tom Butt
  E-Mail Forum – 2018  
  < RETURN  
  On the Campaign Trail
August 31, 2018

The campaign is in full swing. We completed our second candidates forum last night at the Shops at Hilltop. It was attended by about 50 or so people, half of them staff or devoted supporters of the various candidates. Rogers, Rivers and Bates were missing, and Pimple showed up at the end after attending the DPCCC endorsement meeting in Martinez.

My campaign website is,  but E-FORUMs are still posted to

If you would like to volunteer, endorse me or order a lawn sign, go to

On the Campaign Trail

Although it would be nice to be running unopposed, it is still a first for me to have only one opponent.

I am honored and grateful to have the most extensive group of endorsers I have ever had. I found out last night that I have been unanimously endorsed by the Democratic Party of Contra Costa County and the California Democratic Party, a recognition that has eluded me since the first time I ran for office through the six elections I won.

Below is my current endorsement List. I hope you will add your name; please go to

We Support Mayor Tom Butt for Re-Election

Elected and Appointed Officials, Political Organizations

  • Congressman Mark DeSaulnier
  • Former Congressman George Miller
  • State Senator Nancy Skinner
  • Assemblymember Tony Thurmond
  • Berkeley Mayor Jesse Arreguin
  • El Cerrito Mayor Gabriel Quinto
  • Hercules Mayor Chris Kelley
  • Oakland Mayor Libby Schaaf
  • Pinole Mayor Tim Banuelos
  • San Pablo Mayor Genoveva Calloway 
  • San Pablo Councilmember and Former Mayor Cecilia Valdez 
  • Contra Costa County District Attorney Diana Becton
  • Contra Costa County Supervisor John Gioia
  • Contra Costa County Supervisor Diane Burgis 
  • Contra Costa County Supervisor Karen Mitchoff
  • Contra Costa County Supervisor Federal D. Glover
  • Contra Costa Community College Trustee & Former Richmond City Councilmember John Marquez 
  • Former Richmond Mayor Irma Anderson
  • Former Richmond Mayor Rosemary Corbin
  • Former Richmond City Councilmember Jim McMillan
  • AC Transit Director Chris Peeples
  • BART Director Rebecca Saltzman
  • Contra Costa Transportation Authority Commissioner Amy Worth
  • Contra Costa Transportation Authority Commissioner Julie Pierce
  • East Bay Municipal Utility District Board President Lesa McIntosh
  • East Bay Regional Parks Ward 1 Board Member Whitney Dotson
  • West Contra Costa Unified School District Board Member Mister Phillips
  • West County Democratic Club 


  • Contra Costa Building & Construction Trades Council
  • Richmond Police Officers Association
  • Richmond Firefighters, Local 188
  • International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 302
  • Laborers Local 324
  • Operating Engineers Local 3
  • Painters & Drywall Finishers Local 741
  • Plumbers and Steamfitters Local 159
  • Plumbers & Steamfitters Local Union 342
  • Sheet Metal Workers’ Local Union 104

Community Leaders and Neighbors*

  • Stanly Anderson, Marina Bay Neighborhood Council President
  • Myrtle Braxton, Laurel Park Neighborhood Council President
  • Rock Brown, Richmond Heights Neighborhood Council President
  • Joe Fisher, Coronado Neighborhood Council President
  • Jessie Hall, Parkview Neighborhood Council President
  • Rosa Lara, Past President of the 23rd St. Merchants Association
  • Deena Love, Richmore Village/Metro Square Neighborhood Council
  • Jeanette Mahoney, El Sobrante Hills Neighborhood Council 
  • Toody Maher, Executive Director, Pogo Park
  • Doris Mason, Iron Triangle Neighborhood Council President 
  • John Monks, Atchison Village Neighborhood Council President
  • Will Plutte, Greenbriar Neighborhood Council President 
  • Tenzin Rangdol, Tibetan Association of Northern California President
  • Arto Rinteela, Fairmeade Hilltop Neighborhood Council President
  • Bea Roberson, Treasurer, RNCC Executive Board
  • Susan Roland, Collins Management, Representing Seacliff HOA
  • April Roy, Hilltop Village Homeowners Association President
  • Dave Schoenthal, Former Point Richmond Neighborhood Council President
  • Mary Selva, Richmond Annex Neighborhood Council President
  • Jake Sloan, Davillier Sloan Inc. founder
  • Peter Thelin, Point Richmond Neighborhood Council President
  • Eleanor Thompson, Recreation and Parks Commissions
  • Uche Uwahemu, Business person and community leader
  • Vernon Whitmore, Santa Fe Neighborhood Council President
  • Naomi Williams, Pullman Neighborhood Council President
  • Cesar Zepeda, Hilltop District Neighborhood Council President 

 *Organizations listed for identification purposes only – not organizational endorsements