Tom Butt

E-Mail Forum – 2017  
  < RETURN  
  The Rent Board
March 8, 2017

I have been meeting since late 2016 with not more than two other City Council members (Unlike the RPA, I try to honor the Brown Act) to find five people whom I can appoint to the Rent Board. My  goal of appointing a Rent Board, has however, been thwarted by the RPA’s desire to totally control the process. What is now apparent is that the RPA wants to own the Rent Board, just like they have total control of everything else in the City of Richmond now that they have a majority  on the Richmond City Council.

Unfortunately there is a small impediment to their desire for total control --  the Richmond Charter. The Charter gives the mayor the sole power to appoint (the only real power the mayor has) and the City Council the power to approve or reject appointments. What this means is that the mayor and the City Council majority have to agree, or even compromise, to get to a Rent Board, a novel concept to the hard line RPA.

I have tried everything to get to successful Rent Board appointments. I have offered to appoint any two applicants the RPA favors; I have offered to start incrementally, appointing one applicant the RPA favors and one applicant I favor. All these were rejected because the RPA demands no less than total control.

On last night’s agenda, I had a full slate of potential appointees, and I was willing to let the City Council go through them one by one and approve or reject each one, just to try and get the process started.

The item , H-12, had been removed from the Consent Calendar by Gayle McLaughlin, which was fine. At Open Forum, I announced that consideration of the Rent Board and my proposed appointees would be discussed later and therefore it would not be a suitable subject to discuss during Open Forum. This is consistent with our adopted City Council Rules and Procedures.