Tom Butt

E-Mail Forum – 2014  
  < RETURN  
  Architects and Politics
November 7, 2014

In most of the stories about this election, I have been identified as many things, but seldom as an architect. I’ve been a part-time politician for less than 20 years, but I’ve been a full-time architect for more than 40 years. Some people think architects make good legislators.
I was initially inspired to run for office by Harvey Gantt, former mayor of Charlotte, NC, who was the keynote speaker at an American Institute of Architects convention in the early 1990’s. Gantt was a pioneer in many respects. The first African American student to be admitted to Clemson University, he graduated with honors in architecture and earned a Master’s Degree in Urban Planning at MIT. He established his successful architecture practice in Charlotte and was elected to the City Council, serving from 1974 to 1983. He was elected to two terms as the first black Mayor of Charlotte from 1983 to 1987. In the 1990s, he ran twice for the United States Senate against Jesse Helms, losing each time.
Gantt often compared architecture and politics. “To succeed in either architecture or in politics,” he said, “one must understand problems at the community level, listen closely, and orchestrate sometimes-disparate wills.”

On understanding community impact, Gantt wrote: